Reviews

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: 5 thoughts

Harry-Potter-and-the-Cursed-Child-artwork

A full nine years later, the magical world of Harry Potter opened to me again.

Hyped up like the millions of other Potterheads out there, I got the new book, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child home delivered at 12 noon, on the first day. It starts off from where the epilogue of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows ends, and here are my spoiler-free five thoughts after the first read:

  1. People who we are used to seeing as kids are now adults and have real jobs, and they have kids who now go to school.

It’s hard to accept the fact that the characters who we grew up with in our childhood are all old and working now, but I’ve taken it in my stride after much struggle, and you should too.

  1. This is a script for a play, and not a novel.

This took some time for me to get used to. The story moves mostly on only dialogues, and there’s hardly any narration except for some stage description. Personally, I would have loved if it was a novel, with a lot of imaginative description, but it slowly grows on you and I started enjoying it nevertheless.

  1. Be prepared to be mind blown by some wildly imaginative content which you could have never predicted.

Before the book was released, there was palpable excitement but not as much as let’s say, the release of the Deathly Hallows. I thought it was going to be about one of Harry’s children and his adventures in Hogwarts, throwback to the now adult characters and their exploits in life, etc. But this plot was definitely not what I expected.

  1. Some characters who you thought will never be back are back.

Although I was upset that my favourite character didn’t make it, I was still surprised and glad to see a few important characters play vital guest roles.

  1. Who is the cursed child?

I’m going to leave this as an open ended question, as I have three prospects and am unable to pin down one.

We will all have a lot of thoughts about this book, and agree on many things and disagree as well, but ultimately we’re here for the magic of Harry Potter and we will take it in any form.

Get ready to dive into the world of Harry Potter once more. JK Rowling has never disappointed me, and the magic is very much alive.

PS: This is all I can write about the book without giving anything away whatsoever.

PPS: Watch out for Panju.

“Whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.”

 

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: 5 thoughts

Leave a Reply

